Why Can I No Longer Delete Messages On Messenger?

Does messenger delete old conversations?

TLDR; Yes, Messenger does delete your messages (but perhaps only those conversations which are particulary very long)..

How do I permanently delete Messenger messages on both sides?

How to delete Facebook messages on both sides:Tap and hold the message you want to delete.Click “Remove.”Select “Remove for Everyone.”Confirm removal of the message.A tombstone will appear in the message thread, stating “You removed a message.”

Can you delete messages on messenger after 10 minutes?

Facebook now lets you delete messages for 10 minutes after they’ve already been sent — here’s how to use the feature. Facebook Messenger now lets users delete their sent messages, up to 10 minutes after they’ve already been sent.

How do I recover permanently deleted Facebook Messenger messages 2020?

Retrieving Your Chat Data on AndroidDownload and install a file explorer on the Google Play Store.Launch the application and go to your Device Internal Storage > Android > Data.Look for the folder that hosts the data for Facebook namely: “com. facebook. … Here you can find your deleted messages and can recover them.

Can you delete messages on messenger?

Press and hold on a message, or select the three dots menu icon on desktop. Select “remove” next to the message. Select “remove for everyone” — that makes sure that the messages disappear from the inboxes of the people you sent them to, not just from your own. You have 10 minutes to delete a newer message.

Are Facebook messages ever really deleted?

The simultaneously best and worst part of the internet is that nothing can ever really be deleted. Facebook messages and the Messenger app aren’t the only chat clients this applies to. Which means that even once you’ve deleted something… you actually haven’t.

What happens if I delete conversation in Messenger?

If you’re using the Messenger app and what to delete messages on Messenger, tap and hold the message and then tap the “Delete” button. … The message is then deleted from your copy of the conversation, but it remains in the correspondence of anyone you sent it to.

When you delete a message on messenger does it delete on all devices?

Messages deleted anywhere across Messenger will most likely delete across each other. As long as the device is connected to the internet, the message will be deleted everything exists in which it can be seen by you. Do note that other users can still use those messages.

How do you delete old messenger messages from both sides after 10 minutes?

You can delete messenger messages after 10 minutes? To remove a message that you’ve sent: ►From Chats , open a Messenger conversation. ►Tap and hold the message you’d like to remove and select Remove.

Can I delete a conversation on Messenger for both sides?

How to delete Facebook messages on both sides: Tap and hold the message you want to delete. Click “Remove.” Select “Remove for Everyone.”

How long do messages stay on messenger?

Facebook’s message expiration feature can be enabled from a dedicated “Disappearing Messages” tab on a contact’s page in the Messenger app, according to the screenshots. Messages for a conversation thread can then be set to expire after 1 minute, 15 minutes, 1 hour, 4 hours, or 24 hours.

How do I permanently delete Messenger messages?

Locate the message in the conversation that you want to delete with your mouse and click the three-dot icon next to it. Click “Delete” from the drop-down menu. You’ll be asked to confirm that you want to delete the message and, if you do so, your copy of the conversation is permanently erased.

Does Blocking someone on Facebook delete messages?

The messages you sent them before the block will be viewable i.e. the blocked user can see old messages. But once you have blocked a user, the user is removed from the chat list. You can no longer send messages to that user. You will have to go to the blocked users list, unblock and send message if you want to.

Does FB keep deleted messages?

Facebook says it keeps “backup copies for a reasonable period of time” after a deletion, and it says that can be as long as three months. It also says it may retain copies of “some material” from deleted accounts, but removes personal identifiers.

Can you remove unread messages on messenger?

To use the unsend feature, tap and hold on a message you sent, then select “Remove.” You’ll get options to “Remove for Everyone” which will retract the message, or “Remove for you,” which replaces the old delete option and leaves the message in the recipient’s inbox.

How long does messenger keep deleted messages?

Facebook says it keeps “backup copies for a reasonable period of time” after a deletion, and it says that can be as long as three months. It also says it may retain copies of “some material” from deleted accounts, but removes personal identifiers.

How do you delete a message on messenger so the other person can’t see it?

Simply tap on the message you want to remove and select the option to “Remove for Everyone”. The removed message will be replaced by text alerting everyone in the conversation the message was removed. You will have up to 10 minutes to remove a message after it is sent.

Does the other person know when you delete a conversation on Messenger?

If you’re using the Messenger app and what to delete messages on Messenger, tap and hold the message and then tap the “Delete” button. … The message is then deleted from your copy of the conversation, but it remains in the correspondence of anyone you sent it to.